My ‘new’ machine thats 52 years old :)

17 Dec

So I have the coolest ‘new’ toy!  My aunt and uncle had a sewing machine that was my great grandmothers.  My uncle originally had intentions of teaching himself to sew on it, but since has come to the conclusion that life is too busy and he wasn’t going to make the time for it.  Fortunately for me they wanted to give family the opportunity to take it off their hands before they just gave it away to someone random.  So I now have my great grandmother’s 52 year old Pfaff 23o Automatic!  and its in a cabinet that is in perfect shape, like not a scratch on it!

Christian insisted on being in the photo when I took it so you get to see him as well as my new machine.  I have been having a really good time going through all of my great grandma’s stuff that came with it.  She kept EVERYTHING!  My mom told me today that this isn’t an isolated time she kept everything but it was with everything.  She told me when Grandma passed away there were tons of twist ties and rubber bands that had accumulated over the years that they had to throw out!   Now my grandma grew up during the depression so I am not surprised by this at all and frankly I have been quite enjoying what I’ve been finding.  Since she kept everything she of course had the manual (which is good cause I wouldn’t have a clue how to use this without it!) but she also kept the original “certificate of lifetime guarantee” that came with the machine.

This is how I figured out how old the machine is.  The thing that has blown me away the most is the features this machine has!  It does more than my singer confidence (don’t know the model off the top of my head but its computerized with maybe 30 built in stitches) My Grandparents didn’t hold out when they bought it either!  They got the automatic so it does TONS of decorative stitches on its own!  now it takes more than pushing a button because its not computerized, but there is a handy wheel that came with it that I can line up the stitch I want and it tells me which settings I put each dial on the machine on to get the desired stitch!  It also has a function to have the needle either stop in the up or down position (my machine doesn’t do that and it irritates the crap out of me that it doesn’t) a needle threader, it can drop the feed dogs, it can use a twin needle, and it came standard with TONS of feet!!!  I’m so excited to get it all up and running!  Of course I’m going to have it serviced before I try to do anything with it because I don’t want to break anything, but I fully anticipate using this as my primary machine!  I also saw some videos on youtube showing it sewing through some really tough stuff … well the same model anyways.  It can sew through 8 layers of denim, multiple layers of leather etc.  I’m really happy!  I’ve pretty much felt like a kid in a candy store since I got it home late last night!  Well I really should get some sleep so I’m off for tonight but I’ll be back soon 🙂  Hopefully with a project I have made with my ‘new’ machine 🙂

Happy Crafting!

 

Maggie

Leave a Reply

