No sew craft fun

11 Dec

Well I still haven’t fixed or replaced my sewing machine yet and I don’t get my sisters from her till early next week so there haven’t been any new sewn projects this past week … however I couldn’t help myself and I had to make something so I found a fantastic tutorial on the Missouri Star Quilt Company website, the link to the youtube video is  http://www.youtube.com/missouriquiltco#p/u/4/ehJhHl2v6Ow   It is how to make decorative plates out of modge podge, fabric and a clear glass plate.  its super easy and fun.  here is my result:

I think they may end up being gifts with fudge or cookies on them … not sure yet.  These really were super simple!  If you watch the tutorial you see that because she makes 2 or 3 in a 12 minute video … of course you have to give time for them to dry, but that isn’t hard.  I’m definitely going to make some of these out of other fabric … probably valentines because thats another cookie time of year 🙂

I do have to admit that it has been rough not being able to sew anything … I had no idea how much I used my machine till I can’t use it!  I did get to try out my friend Tressa’s Janome machine and it was amazing!  She doesn’t have a ton of fancy things on it or anything just the basic stitches, but it is quiet and smooth and feeds the fabric so well!  it doesn’t shake or anything like my machine did when i stitched too quickly … I think I’m going to check the Janome’s out first when I get my check from ‘Santa’ to go shopping … If any of you out there have any tips or suggestions on a good machine PLEASE let me know!

Well my hubby wants me to put the computer down and spend some time with him so I should go but you all should try to stay warm and dry … we have a winter storm headed our way so I will probably be inside for a bit 🙂  Have a good one!

Maggie

Leave a Reply

