post surgery finger and another bag …

7 Oct

so last night i decided that one and a half days of no sewing was enough and I wanted to make another bag for my weekend trip … so here it is … and the other side of the bag is at the bottom of the post … its reversible 🙂  the water bottle pocket is my favorite feature of the bag, but it was the biggest pain in the tush to figure out but now that i have done it once i think i can do it easier next time … and who knows maybe one of these projects that i put up here i may just do a tutorial for 😉  anyways … on to more exciting things … kinda … my finger is quite sore after the surgery!  the doc had to cut down part of the bone by about 1/4 inch and that doesn’t feel so good, but the good news is that its going to look pretty normal.  I had a follow up with the doc to change the dressing today and of course i took pictures!  I honestly wasn’t sure what to expect other than what Steven had told me which was it was going to be shorter and the fingernail was moved … so here is the big reveal …

here it looks pretty normal it just looks a little goobered up which makes me quite happy … you can tell that he moved the fingernail a little but only if you look really closely …

here you can see the finger compared to the rest of my hand and it really doesn’t look much shorter to me at all yay!  if anyone needs anything done with their hands (or any orthopedics for that matter) i highly recommend Dr Paul Saur with rezin orthopedics … he is really great!  seriously though I can get you his info cause he did a fantastic job and his staff is also very wonderful and friendly.  My entire experience (minus the actual cutting off of my finger of course) has been fantastic!  anyways …

thats about all i have for now and my dad wants his air card back (we are at my parents place tonight) so i need to get of the computer but i’ll give you all another update after this weekend !  hope you all have a safe one!

3 Responses to “post surgery finger and another bag …”

  1. Carrie October 7, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    All the finger pics are super gross, but I can’t help but look! You’re right, though, it doesn’t look shorter!

  2. Jera October 16, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    Wow… i confess that i screamed when i saw your severed finger, you poor thing. Glad to see it’s healing! Because of your finger, I proposed that this month be Finger Safety and Awareness month on my blog and gave a shout out to you. You are a hard core quilter!! 🙂 -jera at http://www.QuiltingintheRain.com

  3. Jera October 18, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    Hi Maggie – you’re quite the trooper, still quilting despite your finger! I confess i screamed when i saw the photo! I gave a shout out to you in my blog (www.QuiltingintheRain.com), proposing that that this month (and every other really) be Finger Awareness Month!!

Leave a Reply

