I can’t believe I’m thinking about Christmas already …

28 Sep

Well I’m trying to get used to getting onto my laptop on a regular enough basis to put up posts frequently … I think I can do it from my phone to, I just have been to lazy to try to figure it out so far … anyways … so here I am again almost a week after my last post, but hey it could be worse.   So today I started to work on some Christmas projects … yes I did say Christmas … although if you are a crafter or a quilter you probably already have been thinking about it as well.  This, however, is the first year, since I have been an adult and outgrown the childlike giddiness, that I have intentionally thought about Christmas before Thanksgiving.  To allow myself to ease into it though I didn’t make a specifically Christmas project though it was more a ‘winter’ project.  Its a simple wall hanging that says ‘let it snow’ on it.  I actually made 4 of them because I am going to have them in a sale in October but its all the same thing.  I think they turned out pretty well myself.

The photo turned out a little blurry because I took it on my phone and didn’t see it on the computer till just now, but it gives you an idea of what it looks like.  I love using fusible web to do appliqué projects because it makes things so much easier and you don’t have to use pins!!! no pins makes me happy … I will use them if I have to, but if I can do something without I don’t use them.   I know I know they make things much easier to stay accurate, but I seem to find that I can be pretty accurate without them for the most part and then I don’t worry about sewing over them by accident or dropping them and not realizing it till I end up with a pin a couple inches into the flesh of my foot (and yes that has happened … not fun!) anyways I’ll get off my soap box about pins now lol …

A few days ago I got the itch to make a table runner using the quilt as you go method that I saw on a you tube tutorial by the Missouri Star Quilt Company.  If you haven’t checked out their site you should!  I have learned probably at least half of what I have learned online from these amazing gals!  And they also are the most friendly group you will ever meet.  I was passing through their area last year and of course had to swing by and they treated me so well and even gave me an extra discount on my purchase just cause I came from so far away!!!  Really they are great!  So the project I made was with a jelly roll and I don’t remember the name of it off hand but its super adorable.   The table runner turned out great too.  I ended up using some of the left over strips for the binding because I hadn’t done a pieced binding and I wanted to see if I liked it or not and turns out I do 😉

I even have over half of the Jelly Roll left so I can either make more table runners like this or I can do something different with it.  I haven’t decided yet.  Any ideas?

I also was getting the itch for a new cute bag the other day and I had a charm pack that I won online forever ago staring at me to make something with.  So I decided I would make a tiny bag to throw my yoyo project stuff in so that I don’t have to have it in a zip lock bag in my purse … Its much cuter in this bag!  I wanted to put a zipper on it, but I didn’t have one on hand and I was too lazy to go to the store and get one … really I knew if I went to the store I would end up buying much more than the zipper I came for and that would make my hubby not so thrilled with me … so it just has handles on it for now.  I’m going to try to see if I can put a snap or clasp or button of some sort on it without makin it look jankety so it will close better, but we will see.

If the charm pack would have had more squares in it (this pack only had 16) I would have made it bigger, but this works good for what I wanted it to do … and its much more adorable than a plane zip lock bag!

Well thats it for now … Hopefully I’ll manage to get on more frequently than once or twice a week from now on … We will just have to see … I will be making more fun Christmas projects in the near future … Some of the projects may be original too who knows … we will just have to wait and see 😉  I have lots of ideas in my head and I’ve already been putting a bunch of them on paper … once they start to get put together I’ll show ya!

Remember … smile at people … it can change someone else’s day for the better and it will make your day better too 😉

Leave a Reply

