fun project of the day …

14 Sep

So i got the itch today to make something that I hadn’t made before … I wasn’t sure what I wanted it to be but I was feeling the creative juices flowing and new I had to do something with them.  I got out one of the patterns that I bought the other day (they were on sale for 1.99!!!)  and thought about making a vest to match my skirt that I had finished but I didn’t have everything I needed and didn’t really feel like using a pattern anyways (cause in my mind thats not creative its making something that someone else already made and following step by step instructions)  so after a little thinking and playing around in my crafting area my inlaws came home and Esther showed me an apron that she bought at an antique shop the went to today.  It was super cute but yet super simple and there was the inspiration for my creative outlet for the day 🙂  Even though its pretty much copying the same thing (like a pattern) I did change things up a bit and added my own flare to it so that it was different.  I used leftover fabric from a quilt that I just made for a friend of mine so I’m actually going to give her the apron since it matches the quilt … and she said she LOVED the  colors of the quilt so i’m sure she will love the apron as well.  I’m going to try to get pictures up of both the quilt and the apron if i can get the software figured out … so if you see pictures below that means I won the battle with my computer and if not … well … i’ll figure it out soon enough i’m sure … anyways … I did also decide that I would make a few more aprons with different fun material that I have in my stash and sell them at my inlaws yard sale that they are having this weekend … hopefully that will also be a good way for me to get my name out there … I just ordered business cards too so I am hoping that they show up before the yard sale so that I can put one with each item … we’ll have to see … I’m also trying to figure out how to make cozies for different sized energy drink cans … I don’t know about the rest of you out there, but i HATE it when my energy drink gets warm … even though the flavors of mine are really good (i drink xs energy drinks that are actually good for you and taste wonderful!)  they still aren’t good once they get warm … I worked on that for a little bit but I was starting to get tired so I’m going to pick up on that project later.  I think I have managed to get the photos to upload so we will see once I get my blog published … Can you tell I’m new at this?  the photo of the blue apron with the pink pockets is going to my friend jacquie because it matches a quilt I just made for her new baby girl.  The other apron is one I made to sell … and the welcome banner is something I made for a friend I went to HS with … BTW if you want me to make you anything just let me know and I can make it for you 🙂  anyways its officially late and I need to try to get some sleep so I can get up at a decent hour tomorrow … hope you all have a good one and i’ll be back soon!!!

Leave a Reply

